Tags

, , , , ,

My Must have Monday post made yesterday seem so pleasant and productive.  Today I would like to tell you how much it wasn’t.  Upon waking up and publishing the post for the day, something became quite clear.  I was sick and it was not going to be a good day.

My roommate, Chris, had been sick all weekend and Monday morning proved that it was now my turn to feel the suffering he endured.  I spent my day laying in bed reading and being way more pathetic than I probably should have been.  Fortunately I have a wonderful boyfriend who not only deals with my normal difficulties, but also my “I think I might be dying,” sick days.

If the fact he didn’t stay away from me doesn’t show how awesome he is, then this will most certainly do the trick.  He cooked me dinner over the weekend.  Like from an actual recipe, not a box.

He had me pick out a recipe from my recipe Pinterest board then got the ingredients from the grocery store.  He then had me sit and relax in my favorite chair and watch tv while he cooked.  It was fabulous.  And stressful.  I must say, listening to him cook dinner made for some frightful mental images.  Roommate Chris (an amazing chef) periodically checked on him just for safety.

The end result was actually very good.  The recipe we used was Honey Mustard Pretzel Chicken from Cinnamon Spice & Everything Nice.  I pretty much started drooling as soon as I looked at the picture.  The final picture of Carl’s attempt was definitely not as pretty. But, you know, it tasted really good so I think he did wonderfully. I’m so proud of him.

He lined up the ingredients like they do on Pinterest and took a photo for me.  Very sweet, with a touch of OCD.

Honey Mustard Pretzel Chicken ingredients

He even made broccoli and cheese noodles to go with the chicken.  It came from a box, but hey, he still had to add the right amount of milk.

Carl cooking

I firmly believe that recipes never come out in real life like they do in the posts.  Even if they taste just as good.

Honey Mustard Pretzel Chicken Fail

Do the recipes you try out at home turn out as pretty as the pictures?