Tags

, , , , ,

If there is one thing you probably have noticed about me after spending any time here on Something Winnderful, it’s that Pinterest is a major part of my life.  Some people may hide their Pinterest addiction, but I choose to display my affection for the site proudly.  Why?  Because lying is bad and  90% of the things I cook, craft, and organize come from that site.  Trust me, the day I’m creative enough to craft or cook something amazing, you’re gonna know it.

Today’s post centers around nothing other than something I’ve discovered on Pinterest. If you were to look at my Pinterest Homemade board you would know I’m borderline obsessed with making my own version of store bought items.  Hey, I’m broke and if it’s gonna save me money (and maybe, I don’t know, a tree or something), I’m gonna make it.

A few weeks ago I decided I was going to make my own laundry detergent.  You’ll notice on my board that I pinned an obscene number of homemade laundry detergent recipes, and I reviewed all of them before picking one.  I went with a non liquid recipe from Being Creative to Keep My Sanity. Why did I pick this particular one?  Because I don’t have a 5 gallon bucket to store a monster load of liquid laundry detergent and this recipe was about as easy as it gets.

How to make homemade laundry detergent

    • 1 4 lb 12 oz box Borax (2.15 kg or 76 oz) found in the detergent isle
    • 1 4 lb box Arm & Hammer Baking Soda (1.81 kg) found in the cooking isle
    • 1  box Arm & Hammer Super Washing Soda 55 oz (3 lb 7 oz) found in the detergent isle
    • 3 bars of Fels-Naptha soap, found in the detergent isle (if you use Zote bars use 2 bars instead, Zote can be found at Home Depot)
    • 2 small containers of Oxy Clean or store brand Oxy Clean (try to get about 3.5 lbs total  found in the detergent isle. (optional)

First grate the Fels-Naptha soap into a large bowl.  It looks like a big bowl of cheese when you’re done.  Then combine all the ingredients in a garbage bag and mix them together.  Dispense into whatever container you choose.  Use 1-2 tablespoons per load.

Easy homemade laundry detergent

Easy homemade laundry detergent

I used what I had at home and put my detergent in a gallon pitcher and six 8 oz. mason jars.  All the ingredients were available at Walmart and cost about $15 all together.  (I didn’t use the optional Oxy Clean, I’m kid free so none of the clothes I wash get crazy dirty.) It is definitely worth the investment.

I was worried it wouldn’t clean my clothes well but after a few trial weeks I asked Carl how he felt his clothes turned out and all he said was, “clean.”  I guess that means this works just fine.

What homemade version of products have you tried?

