Tags

, , , , , , ,

I’ve learned something about my cooking this week, I have zero commitment to the actual recipe I’m using.  There’s how the recipe is supposed to be cooked…and then there’s how I cook it.  This recipe for chicken salad crescent rolls is the perfect example of how I pretty much just throw the recipe out the window.  Here’s my inner dialogue whilst cooking dinner last night.

Oooh, this looks good. Wait, I don’t like celery, I’m just not going to use celery.” Five minutes later.  “Aww crap, we don’t have Worcestershire sauce anywhere in the house.  Welp, soy sauce sounds about good enough.”  Two minutes later. “Poopy, the cheddar cheese is starting to go bad.  I’ll just use the good slices and then use swiss on the rest of them.” 

The original (and correct) recipe is from the blog, Plain Chicken, read below and you can see what recipe I created.

Chicken salad crescent rolls

  • 2 cups chopped chicken
  • 1/2 tsp. soy sauce
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • As much pepper as I thought looked good, I would say  1/2 to maybe 1/4 tsp.
  • 3/4 cup mayo
  • 2 cans crescent rolls
  • 2 slices cheddar cheese
  • 2 slices swiss cheese

Mix together first five ingredients.  Roll out crescent rolls on large baking sheet lined with aluminum foil (for easy cleanup).  Tear a piece of cheese and place on wide end of crescent rolls.  Scoop chicken salad mixture on top of cheese and roll up into the crescent shape.  Once all crescent rolls are assembled and placed on baking sheet, bake in oven preheated to 375 and let cook for 18-20 minutes, or until crescents are golden brown.

Here are the final results.

Chicken salad crescent rolls by Something Winnderful

Not too bad looking, right?!  They actually tasted pretty good, I would definitely make them again.  I must say they still didn’t turn out as good looking as the original recipe, but oh well, they still tasted great.  I would definitely make them again, only I would probably eat them for lunch instead of dinner.

What have you cooked this week?

