Tags

, , , , , ,

Yesterday I decided to be a good girlfriend and have dinner ready when Carl got home from class.  I had finally bought groceries so Carl and I no longer had to live off the scary things at the bottom of our fridge. I decided to make baked garlic brown chicken.  Why?  Because it literally involved only three ingredients and one of them was brown sugar.  And I fricken’ love brown sugar.  I eat it by the spoonful sometimes.  Don’t judge me.

I found the recipe through Pinterest (of course) and stuck with my usual “forget what the recipe says and make it how I want” strategy.  If you want to see the real recipe, you can check it out at Daydream Kitchen.  I highly suggest checking out the real recipe, because mine didn’t go so well.  I mean, it tasted just fine, but I feel like I didn’t do something right.

Baked Garlic Brown Sugar Chicken

  • 2 Chicken breasts
  • 2 Garlic cloves minced
  • 4 Tbsp brown sugar

Saute minced garlic in a pan with a little bit of oil.  Add your brown sugar and mix together.  Cover chicken breasts in garlic and brown sugar mixture and bake in oven at 500 degrees.  Cook 15-30 minutes until done.

Here is how mine looked out of the oven.  Not very pretty.

Bakes garlic brown sugar chicken

I added some extra brown sugar to the chicken since, clearly, all the brown sugar melted away and collected in the corners.  If, and that’s a moderately large if, I cook this again, I wont set the oven so high and I would cook a different side.  We had mashed potatoes with it that also weren’t very good. They were instant mashed potatoes that cost a dollar, I’m not that surprised.

Here’s how it looked after adding more brown sugar.

Baked garlic brown sugar chickenI think I may give this recipe another try when I have real vegetables to cook along with it.  I considered not posting about this recipe, but hey, this blog is supposed to be about my failures too.  Have you tried any recipes lately that didn’t turn out too well?

