Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

So, the night I made the asian broccoli coleslaw, I also made baked parmesan chicken.  I know, cooking TWO things in ONE day?! I don’t know what came over me.  The even more surprising thing is that both recipes came out great. I must tell you, the baked parmesan chicken was a complete fluke.  I followed a recipe for Baked Paprika-Parmesan Chicken and ended up with the baked parmesan.  Continue reading to see how the recipe was supposed to be followed and then see everything I did “wrong” to end up with the parmesan chicken.

Baked Parmesan Paprika Chicken

  • 1/4 Cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 Cup grated parmesan cheese
  • 2 Tsp paprika
  • 1/2 Tsp salt
  • 1/2 Tsp black pepper
  • 1 Egg beaten
  • 2 Tblsp milk
  • 4 Skinless boneless chicken breast halves
  • 1/4 Cup butter melted

Preheat the oven to 350.  In a bowl, whisk together the egg and milk.  In a separate bowl, combine the flour, parmesan, paprika, salt and pepper.  Dip the chicken in the egg/milk mixture then dredge it in the flour mixture until covered.  Place in a sprayed baking dish.  Once all the chicken is placed in the dish, pour melted butter over chicken. Cook 1 hour and 15 minutes in oven until cheese has browned and chicken is cooked.

Parmesan Crusted Paprika Chicken from allrecipes.com

Doesn’t that picture look beautiful? That is not how mine looked at all.  But before you scroll down and judge my food, know that it really did taste fantastic.  Here are all the things I “did wrong” yet still somehow turned out just fine.

  • I used chicken tenderloins instead of chicken breasts.
  • Instead of grated parmesan, I used parmesan flakes that I just kinda roughed up into smaller pieces.
  • I also discovered we were out of paprika when I cooked this.  I sprinkled in the little that was left and just left it at that.
  • I completely missed the step with the butter.  I noticed the chicken still looked powdery, so about halfway through cooking I poured a little bit of milk over the chicken.
  • I did not cook it for an hour and twenty-five minutes.  That was just way too long.  I gave it until the chicken was done, about 25 minutes, and took it out.  The parmesan wasn’t crusty, but it was perfectly melted.

Baked parmesan chicken

I told you not to judge it!  It looks a little sad but tasted fantastic.  I get a new camera tomorrow, maybe then my food can start to look prettier.  Have you recently cooked something that turned out completely different, yet still somehow good?

