Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Prepare yourself readers, because this is going to be a tough read.  I’m devastated to share that our baby Daisy passed away this past Saturday.  As I mentioned on Friday, Daisy went into the vet clinic on Wednesday because of a virus her litter caught.  They kept her at the clinic and by Saturday morning she had gone downhill. By noon that day she had passed.  We were told she was too young (5-6 weeks) for her body to be able to fight the virus.

Now, I’ve lost pets before, but nothing like this.  This was our baby.  It wasn’t a pet my parents picked and my siblings and I loved and enjoyed.  It wasn’t a pet that we knew was old and their time was coming.  This was our baby girl that Carl and I chose after falling in love with her.  We were the ones that woke up every 2 hours at night to take her potty.  I was the one that came home every 2 hours in the day to give her my time.  I don’t think I can ever have kids because enduring this was just too difficult.

I’ve learned a lot of things while trying to make it through this situation. Hopefully some of the things I’ve learned can help you should you ever find yourself if this difficult place.

Don’t be afraid to grieve in the way you feel best.  I cried, a lot.  Carl, however, did not.  I know he wanted to, and I would have been okay if he did, but he didn’t want to cry in front of me.  And that’s okay.  Whether you cry alone, one someone’s shoulder, or even not at all, it’s completely fine.

Don’t be afraid to tell people what you need.  Many people are going to ask you if they can do anything for you, or if there is anything you need.  If you need their company, tell them, if you just want to be left alone, it’s okay to tell them that too.  I needed to cry over Daisy, but I didn’t want anyone to see me other than Carl.  As much as my roommates wanted to be there for me, I told them I just needed to be left alone, and they were fine with that.

Do something that makes you happy and don’t lose your routine.  Carl and I could have easily stayed in bed all day and been worried and sad throughout this whole ordeal.  Instead we spent time with each other and did things we loved.  Our friends invited us out to get out mind off things, but we felt better being together and watching movies.  It’s important to take the time to grieve, but it’s also important to not lose yourself.

This is a very short list, but I’m honestly still figuring all this out.  We’re handling this very well, but know we’re always going to be sad when we think about Daisy.  We will take all the time we need to deal with this and then begin looking for a new puppy.  Daisy was perfect, and we would do anything to get her back, but we got her because we wanted and were ready for a puppy.  So once we’re emotionally ready, we’ll begin this process again.

Baby Daisy

Here are some links to articles dealing with pet loss.

Coping with Pet Loss: Grieving the Loss of a Dog or Cat

Ten Tips for Coping with Pet Loss

